HEART WORDS

Isn’t there something about a story that touches you deep in your soul in a genuine way? You know the ones I’m talking about. Some books and movies put you on the receiving end of heart words or they make you wish—make you want—to be the one standing there and listening to the love of your life saying, “I love you, I need you”.

For me a book just doesn’t have that, I’ll never forget this book touch unless there are true feelings between two people or characters. The love can be physical or platonic. I’m a romantic and I keep wondering what happened to me. I mean, I’m a guy and I’m not supposed to fall for these kinds of books and movies.

I do enjoy action, thrillers, fantasies—which often have those scenes I crave—and most any genre for a good read and to see how an author pulls it all together. But my most memorable reads are heart touching books with heart words that leave me smiling or even crying. Yes, I have been known to cry. Not often. How ’bout them Bears!

I read that Nicholas Sparks was given a hard time for being a man and writing romance novel by his fellow writers. Having sold millions of copies of his books I would think that no one could or would give him a bad time now.

Is it hard to write scene that touch a reader and possibly leave them with tears or a smile? If you write it like you are there and say it the way you would like to hear it and don’t be restricted by a stone hard plot line, then the answer is yes. I believe any genre of books need something to touch the reader in the heart even in the most desperate of situations. I’ve known men; tough ones, who would never be caught crying or showing their sensitive side get up and leave the room when heart words find them. That’s a good thing to know that these harden, straight line people know what it means to feel.

Several years ago I wrote a book for my grandson to try and help him through the hard times of his life to come. I have tried on a number of occasions to read it aloud to my wife and others and I just can’t do it. I guess I’m a sap for heart words.

What does it take to make a book unforgettable for you?

Every person out there is the rarest of all diamonds- Nicholas Sparks

Tyler Hill's Decision newest book cover - 12-07-11

 Tyler Hill’s Decision

 

28 responses to “HEART WORDS

  1. There’s nothing more lovely than a man who loves romance (my man loves romance too – it’s one of the main reasons I fell for him). Love aside, I never thought about what makes a book unforgettable to me. I suppose some kind of introspection and character growth.

  2. You’ve made my ego swell, Letizia. Yes. I do agree with you. Many books don’t come right out with love and romance, but most connect because to grow and a look within requires a commonality that includes the filling of the soul. I’m still a romantic at least in my mind. Thank you for visiting!

    • Thank you for your kind words, Jenny and even more for visiting. Hope you are well and things are going your way. You novel Dagon’s Blood has many heart words in it!

  3. Love the post Dannie. I think what you’ve said resonates with all readers and writers. There has to be a “spark” whether it be a love interest or any other thread to keep the reader motivated to finish the book and recommend it to fellow readers. Like you, I really love to get caught up in the romantic side of a book, although romance novels are not my favorite read. However, the books I do read also have some of the same parameters and I genuinely feel the love and pain and that’s the kind of writer I aspire to become. When I was writing a particularly hard scene in the first Inzared book I took it to my Writer’s Group but they couldn’t put their finger on what made it too flat. A friend took me aside and asked “Have you ever gone through a pain so very bad you couldn’t stand it – didn’t think you’d be able to go on? Go home, readdress that feeling and rewrite. Sometimes it’s very hard to do, but necessary to get your readers involved.” I did that and the scene came together perfectly. I even cry when I read it!

    • You are so right, Linda. I don’t read a lot of pure romance novel, although some I’ve read combine a plot that is just what I wanted to read. You took the advice from your friend very well. INZARED was one of the books I was thinking of when I wrote this post. Having scenes that touch you, as a writer, is a good indicator that it will touch the reader and you know you’ve done something right. Great to hear from you!

  4. A turn of phrase that touches me is all it takes. It doesn’t have to be a love story or romance. I’m a lover of words, so how an author describes something in a way I’ve never imagined will make a book a unique experience for me.

    Great post, Dannie.
    xox
    eden

    • You said it well, Eden. But I do enjoy touching scenes. I am so flattered that so many talented authors have made comments on this subject. I admire you all! Thank you, dear one.

  5. Thanks for the things you’ve shared in this post. The current reductionist fashion of discouraging emotive writing, encourages that “stone hard plot line,” too. Feelings happen. We can’t reliably plot them for ourselves (they’re too much like the sharks lurking at the bottom of your theme), so why should anybody think that a rigidly restrictive writing regimen can produce authentic emotion in realistic characters with whom readers can identify? I raised three sons, and any man who believes that the only acceptable masculine feelings are anger and lust, is carrying more emotional baggage than is healthy for himself and anyone else in his vicinity. I’m glad you’re here to set the right example.

    (Thanks for the Twitter follow and tweets, too!)

    • Thank you so much for your comments. There is a stereotype for men and luckily most men don’t fit the mold, completely. I’ve never been a very good rule follower, except in being a, or trying to be, a good person. I’m not politically correct but I also don’t defame a person because of his/her thoughts.

      You’re so right about some writing today. Writers tend to read how it should be done and follow those rule to the letter. Writing style is something we should all pay attention to, but plots should be like life. Filled with emotions of all kinds. I try in my writing to insert messages about life without standing on a soapbox. It’s for the reader to decipher while enjoying a well written story.

      Thank you again, Christine, for visiting and your kind words. And it’s a pleasure to follow you on Twitter.

  6. I thought first of the last story in Jumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, the last paragraph just blew me away. What is takes to do this is? Writing that feels absolutely authentic, as is the writer has shared a personal, important detail of their heart.

  7. Pingback: Far From the White Tablecloth | vsvevg

Leave a Reply

