Newest Review of Death’s Door

I try hard not to inundate readers of my blog with books I’ve written and my lack of marketing skills, but this review from Jo Robinson is something that made my day. I know Jo from the great blog she has about writing, life in South Africa and her great support to other writers. She is a very talented writer, so this review means so much to me.

Reviews are so important to writers if only to know that their works are being read by others. They also help us be better at our craft.

I hope you will check out Jo Robinson’s blog and books because she has a very easy way with words and her stories are interesting, touching and so well written.

Sells of Death’s Door have had a slow start because, I think, I’m not known in the thriller genre. Recently it ranked at number 2 for Terrorism at Amazon and I nearly fell on the floor. If you haven’t read it please give it a go and let me know what you think.

deaths_door

 

Jo’s review:

The things that most struck me in this book were the descriptions of the lives of the people in the Middle East, as well as Muslims in the USA. With all the hatred in the world today, books like this are needed, and will go a long way to create a better understanding of those nations and the realisation that they are loving, feeling, and proud people just like everyone else, and deserving of our friendship and respect, rather than painting them all with the same brush.

That being said, even without that, it was a brilliant rollercoaster ride to read from beginning to end. From the minute I met Dell and Bill, slap bang in the middle of a vision and a bomb about to go off, I couldn’t put it down. Their journey to stop a catastrophic event that would inevitably lead to world war takes them from the States, to Israel, and Lebanon and back again. The desert scenes and the words of love are beautifully written, and took this book to another level for me. And the laughter will catch you unawares – I didn’t see any of it coming, and at the risk of a tiny spoiler, I have to say that Bill’s gas had me laughing so hard I had to stop reading for a little while.

At the end of this book, I loved all the characters, including whacky, crazy Captain Teasdale. A beautifully crafted story combining elements of emotion and humor skillfully with some seriously hair-raising action. I definitely recommend it

 

 

38 responses to “Newest Review of Death’s Door

  1. Great review and could not agree more with Jo. I remember the book well and also recommend.

    You must continue in this genre Dannie. You are a powerful writer regardless of genre. I know what it feels like to change genres, and readers of your previous books will follow you and still recognize your voice, and might I add, it’s a damn good voice too.

    xox
    eden

    • Never been stationed there but I’ve been around several Arab/Muslims and enjoyed their insight. I spent some time with a well educated Pakistani man who when through the Partitioning of India. A short time worth many weeks of study. I also love reading about that part of the world.

    • Thank you, Dianne. The review by Jo really lifted me up for the NaNoWriMo story I’m writing. It will take a while to get the smile off my face. I do hope you enjoy my writing as much as I enjoy yours!

    • Jo. I can’t say it enough. Thank you for the great review. I have never been to that area, but that’s the great thing about fiction. I’ve known a number of people from that part of the world, read books, researched and then mix it all together inside a crazy head and it comes out. When I write a story it is visual in my mind.

      You found all the things I put into this story and that makes me very happy. Many hidden below the surface, some hitting you in the face, but all to show that people should be judged individually and not as a group.

      • I am sure after this Christmas business is over, I shall be wallowing in free time and flying through the books again, not to mention blog posts. I am glad you enjoy my words, I shall endeavour to get a regular posting schedule up again.

  2. Wonderful review, Dannie, and I am certain it is well deserved! But I have to tell you that her review sparked in me such a huge fire of shame and regret. I have been promising you for ages that I would post reviews of two of your books (both of which I have read-twice: first for pleasure, second for “name and fact checking.”

    However, I hope soon to make good on my promise. The two I have read are “Tyler Hill’s Decision,” and “In Search of a Soul.” I hope to be able to do justice to them. My ability to do things in a timely manner has been hindered recently, but I hope to be able to introduce readers to these two fine novels.

    Hope things are doing well back in the good ol’ USA. Wish you two would come out to the mountains for a visit! I’ll be posting soon about my latest venture, I hope. Gee, I sure am doing a lot of hoping lately! 😮

    • Paula. Just knowing you read my books and enjoyed them is more than enough for me. Your poems have inspired me for such a long time, I’m beholding to you for the words you use to patch up the holes in my soul.

      I promise if ever I’m even close I’ll be stopping by. I think you know that I wrote Tyler Hill’s Decision to inspire and give a bit of advice to my Grandson, Tyler, when he is older. I wrote it to grasp his interest and show him how to over come any adversities he may encounter in his life. And by the way he has such a beautiful heart I no longer worry for him.

      I’m trying to get through this Holiday Season and see the true meaning of the birth of Jesus Christ. Thank you for your kind words.

    • That’s great to hear, Sharmishtha. I think the same can be said about the U.S. but the media only shows the dark side of our diversity. In Thailand the Buddhist, Christians and Muslims live in peace for the most part. Thank you, dear lady, for commenting

    • Thank you, Lee. The cover says much about the interior. It’s so good to hear from you. I’m getting ready to read the second edition of Swimming With Wings with a new set of eyes.

  3. Congrats on this great review. This part of the world has always intrigued me regardless of what others might say or think. Fascinating and mysterious. Now you really got me interested..

Leave a Reply

