Dive Bombers of Seattle

I’ve recently read BRITT SKRABANEK’s blog about a visit she took recently to Seattle and it brought back memories of some funny trips I’ve taken there. I’ve been to Seattle several times with my family to enjoy the people, sights and sound of a great city by the sea.

Of course we went to all the must see sights but also went to a few out of the way places. It seems every time I go somewhere I have odd experiences that are funny—to me—and they always bring a smile.

Seattle

Seattle

My kids were young at the time of our first visit and we started off in the pier area. I decided we would walk up to Pike’s Market and found a long stairway up to the next street level. We were about halfway up when my oldest son grabbed my arm and said, “Daddy. There’s a dead man down there!” My younger son and daughter agreed, so I stopped the precession and made my way down to the bottom hoping I wouldn’t find what my son thought he saw. I looked around and found no one that might be dead and my son yelled down, “Under the steps.”

I went around under the steps and there was a man sleeping, I hoped. I called out to him and he mumbled a few disparaging words, which was a great relief. He tightened his grip on his bottle of wine and went back to sleep. I left him with a few dollars and laughed as I re-climbed the stairs. I told my son. “It’s okay. He’s not dead, but he will feel like it when he wakes up.”

After visiting the market and watching the workers throw big fish to one another we made our way to the park at the end of the street. Here was my second surprise. There were a number of homeless people and they were all of Asian descent. I was amazed. For some reason it never occurred to me that there were Asians who were homeless. I’m from the South and at the time Asian weren’t that common. Yes, my wife is from Thailand but 2 and 2 does not always equal 4 with me.

Throwing fish at the market

Throwing fish at the market

Mount Rainier

Mount Rainier

They were a happy group and my kids went over to see what they were doing. They treated my children as part of the family and I had to drag them away to go on to our next adventure. We all waved as we left.

On a company trip I had been working for 36 hours straight and I was tired. So I went outside to look around and it was so foggy I couldn’t see five feet away. A big blob flew passed my head missing me by only a few feet and I ducked, wondering if they threw fish in the fog. As I stood up another blob whizzed by but this time I caught a glimpse of it. It was a seagull! I found out that they fly low to the ground when the fog is so thick. Sounds kind of dangerous for either party.

Fog in Seattle

Fog in Seattle

Seattle is one of my favorite places to visit. There are days so clear Mount Rainier seems close enough to touch and the sea shimmers in the bay. There are also many days of rain and fog and it’s like exploring the unknown as you go forth on your adventure. And the seafood is wonderful.

Check out Britt’s blog. She’s a very nice person to know and quite talented!

All photo’s were borrowed from the internet for this blog only.

Have you had any crazy things happen while in a strange place?

9 responses to “Dive Bombers of Seattle

  1. Thank goodness they were seagulls and not fish being thrown in the fog – getting smacked in the face with a fish unexpectedly would be quite an experience! I like Seattle a lot too, have good friends there. Funnily enough, it’s always been sunny when I’ve visited so I’ve wondered if the grey weather is a myth 😉

    • It’s no myth, but even in the rain Seattle is beautiful. Thank you so much for visiting, Letizia. On my third trip there I mentioned to a friend that it had been sunny on all my visit and he told me how lucky I was. You’ve got the luck too

  2. Yay, Dannie! You told the seagull story! And, thanks for the shout-out.

    I wasn’t traveling when this kooky thing happened but I just remembered that I have a bird story too. Back in Dallas some years ago I was sitting on the hot curb after work waiting for Mr. H to pick me up. I was in a bad mood, sweating, etc. when suddenly I saw a white flash out of the corner of my eye just before it hit me in the head. I opened my eyes in time to see it soar back into the air and I laughed my ass off. : )

  3. Seagulls, hmm… they are not the nicest birds in my experience, and for some reason remind me of vultures. Great to see you here Dannie, sorry I’m late to comment 😉 xo
    eden

Leave a Reply

