Back Home?

I can’t believe I haven’t posted anything since March of this year and people are still following me. Thank you all.

My wonderful wife and I purchased a house in South Florida July of last year and tried to settle in to Floridian life. Julee took to it with a smile and a feeling of ownership. One of her goals has been to have her name on property in the States, if only to show others that she is an American. The concept is a bit foreign—no pun intended—to me, but I’ve learned that when she’s happy I’m happy.

After 10 years in Thailand I too was ready to try life back in the States, but not with her zeal. To be honest, it didn’t work for me. Please understand that I love America and the people. One thing I missed in Thailand was the diversity of people that the States offer. I just couldn’t get my head around all the… rules of engagement and so I slowly slipped back into my hole, looking for the day I returned to Thailand. This post is a bit of a rehash of a previous one, but I do hope you’ll forgive me as I learn to blog again.

Well, we made it back to Thailand for three months and it was pure joy for me. For my wife, not so much. The weight of the world—and family— came off my shoulders. But as intended it was only a visit. I stepped off the plane back in the States and the bad leaped at me. I sought my hole, but my wife wouldn’t allow it.

It’s been four months now and I finally have found enjoyment with all the rules of play, family, expenses and those damn taxes, insurance, cable TV and the rest. I’ve also broke my addiction of watching TV too much. The best news is I’ve finally started writing again and it feels good. It may not be good writing but it’s good for me. I’m still an early morning writer which interferes with fishing, but I can do both—just not at the same time.

My first starfish

My first starfish

Big Snook

Big Snook

At the beach with our daughter at the beach

At the beach with our daughter at the beach

My blogging friends and fellow writers have been an inspiration to me and several have published new books that I hope to help promote in the coming days. Eden Baylee and Britt Skrabanek are two writers that will impress you with their talent.

I’m amazed at the people I’ve come to know through social media. All of you who read this simple blog have filled in the hole and I’ve thrown away the  shovel!

sas_2kindle Nola Fran Evie Cover Large

I’ll also be promoting my latest book as well. Not that many readers, so far, but it’s a great story with great reviews, take a look.

I hope those that follow my blog will continue and I’ll try to do my happy blogs.

About a few of the pictures of me holding fish. First, the big one was released and second; it isn’t cold. One friend commented that she didn’t know it was so cold in Florida, ha! It’s my Thai style sunblock. That day reached 95 degrees. I had no idea you can catch starfish with a hook. They’re a bit crunchy as sushi–joke.

16 responses to “Back Home?

  1. So happy to hear that you are settling in nicely in Florida. Early morning writing or fishing sounds good. I’m a morning person too. I’m excited to read your latest book too!

    • Thank you, Letizia. You bought OWP. It was my first. I have much improved since then. I will wonder what you think and hope you’ll try my last one, Death’s Door.
      If you’ll send me your email via DM (Twitter) I would like to gift you a copy.

  2. Yay, Dannie! So great to see you blogging again…how awesome. And, thank you for the generous shout-out. I have Eden’s book up next on my Indie read list. I’m excited to check this one out. Glad you’re settling into your Florida life. I’m know the transition isn’t easy, but I’m sure being in such a beautiful state helps smooth out the ride. Thanks again!

    • I do complain too much, but I am happy here. Being near the sea puts me in a good place. I’ll try to do more to help promote your great book. I did enjoy Eden’s book as well

  3. Gawd Dannie!

    Now you’ve made this ‘ol girl blush. Sheesh. Just when I thought you couldn’t pull a quick one over me, you go and do this. THANK YOU sweet man. I’m speechless.

    I don’t care if you haven’t blogged for a year or longer, I’d still follow you. I’ve followed you from Texas to Thailand to Florida, and maybe one day, you may end up near me and we can actually share a beer together — with sushi or Thai food. Wouldn’t that be something?

    I’m thrilled to learn you are writing again, THRILLLLLED! You have style and flair, and your words speak for you. Please write like the wind … I can’t wait to read it.

    BIG hugs,
    eden

    • Every time we write to each other I smile– you make me smile. Thank you for your very kind words. A beer and dinner will be put on my bucket list.

      I’m happy to be writing again. Trying to restart a very good story that lost it’s way. I also muddle through some short pieces trying to wake up my muse and it’s fun. Once I get something going in the right direction I’ll let you take a look. Thanks again, beautiful Eden

  4. Glad you’re blogging again Danny. I’ve missed your posts. I totally understand how you feel. Coming back to the States after living in Mexico was a big change for me. It has taken me a few years to re-adjust but I think I’m finally doing well. I miss so many things about my “adopted” country, but I have lots of friends there, lots of photos and many good memories. And the good thing is that I can at least go back to visit! Good luck!

    • Isn’t it funny how one can feel so at home in a foreign place and then struggle when returning to the States. I’m so happy to hear you are getting back into life in the States.

      I too will be visiting Thailand to recharge but for now I’m committed to life in the States for a while. Thanks so much for visiting and commenting, Linda!

Leave a Reply

