NEW YEAR’S Resolution and the bird

For our New Year’s resolution I decided that Julee and I would eat only one piece of fruit for the first week of January. The picture is me—straining—to hold the jackfruit long enough to get a photo and my beautiful wife. It is from one of our trees at our little farm.

Dannie, Julee and a Jackfruit1

Many times I sit by my small pond to think and to watch nature. Lately I’ve had a Kingfisher come and visit, but was never able to get a picture of it. It always showed me his beautiful orange breast, but when he flies to capture a small fish he is a magnificent iridescent blue.

On Christmas day he joined me at the pond and waited until I ran back to grab my camera and then posed for a few pictures. This time he showed me his back and front. This Kingfisher is very small. Most Kingfisher I see are twice his size. Enjoy.

Kingfisher1Kingfisher

30 responses to “NEW YEAR’S Resolution and the bird

  1. You received a delightful Christmas present, didn’t you. Thanks for sharing it with us. The Kingfisher is brilliant – I’ve never seen one before and your pictures are awesome. As to the piece of fruit for a week in the New Year – you’re a better person than I. I don’t think I could eat just one! lol Happy New Year!

    • Thank you, Linda. I did receive a wonderful Christmas present in the form of the bird’s visit. It did not fall on an unknowing soul. I’ll post picture of the fruit inside. It is delicious. Happy New Year and great success in the coming year!

  2. Ah Dannie, I had to run to Wikipedia (the fastest route of discovery, often followed by more reliable routes when interest beckons) to see just what is this “Jackfruit” you speak of. There seem to be many ways of preparations that will allow you much variety in the week of eating this. Looks to me that you and your wife will have great fun and enjoyment.
    The Kingfisher now, he is very beautiful and obviously preened for his pics. The Kingfisher that dips in my pond, is greyish blue with white chest and black tips. Thank you so much for sharing! Brought a smile to the day! Happy New Year, my friend! 😉

    • Thank you, sweet Virginia. So good to hear from you. Jackfruit is one of my favorites, but it is very sticky getting to the fruit. Once it’s washed it has such a taste! I’ll put out a picture or two of the fruit after Julee prepares it, lol. I really enjoy the birds of Thailand. Some have such colors it seems impossible to be natural.

      I wish you a great New Year and much success!

  3. How wonderful that you were able to get the photo of the Kingfisher and share it with us- an omen of a wonderful year to come, I’m sure! And I just love the photo of you and your lovely wife. Here’s to a wonderful new year!

    • Thank you, pretty Letizia. I do thing the bird was a blessing and hopefully a forecast of things to come. I try to listen and follow instructions and there is a change in the wind for us in the coming year.

      I hope you and your family are blessed and the hurricanes leave you in peace!

  4. The jackfruit is huge, and the kingfisher is tiny, but what you have is not defined by size. You have amazing gifts where you are Dannie.
    Best to you and Julee for 2013 and always,
    eden
    xoxo

  5. I am a BIG fruit fan and I want a piece of your massive fruit 🙂 so I know what a treat it would if I ever visit you 🙂

    Saw a documentary about Kingfisher the other day and they are small but amazing!

    Have a wonderful 2013, and sending you and Julee my very best wishes across continents 🙂

    • I’ll have a fresh piece waiting for you, Junying. Jackfruit is one of my favorites. It’s not overly sweet and has a meaty (dense) consistency. It a beautiful yellow in color. There are some Kingfishers here that are much bigger than the little fellow who visits me. But none compare to his colors! Happy New Year, pretty lady!

  6. It is obvious that you choose resolutions that are extremely hard to stick to!! I had to chuckle. And Mr. Kingfisher – well – what a lovely communing you have going on. He’s gorgeous. Wishing you the very best year ever.

    • Thank you, Kathy. I have many things to be thankful for this past year and you are one of them! You support and friendship has only brought me smiles!
      Resolutions are my speciality– I’m more the wing-it kind of guy, lol. I do enjoy nature wherever I am. Happy New Year pretty Lady!

  7. Happy, happy New Year to you and your gorgeous wife, Dannie. I hope that 2013 brings you bucket loads of happiness, and may all good things go your way.

    Love your photos! He’s truly beautiful, and you are very lucky indeed to have that little friend around. Now ,the Jackfruit, I’ve never tasted or even heard of it. It’s huge though, isn’t it? I doubt very much we have it here, a pity as I’d love to try it. I hope you have both been enjoying it.

    Cheers, Dannie.
    Take care and keep smiling! 🙂

    • I must tell you, Sandra, it is so good to hear from you! I hope you and your great family are well and that this new year will bring nothing but joy and blessings. I really am smiling. As for the jackfruit– it’s hard to discribe the taste and texture of the fruit inside. It is full of large yellow seed cases and they are sweet, but not too sweet. It’s one of my favorites. In the States we can purchase jackfruit in a can at an Asian food store, but they are packed in syrup.
      The bird continues to visit, but once again makes his escape when I get too near. It was only that one day that he’ll made peace with me and it was a gift I won’t forget.

Leave a Reply

