Reviews of Death’s Door by Dannie Hill

I try not to blow my own writing horn too much but I’ve been receiving some very good for my heart reviews! I’ve selected 5 from professional reviewers and hope you will take the time to see what makes me smile. These reviews won’t show up on Amazon (except on my author’s page)– I really don’t understand why, because each reviewer bought their own copy of the book. They do show up at Goodreads and other sites along with several other great reviews.

I would normally cut the reviews to just a quick blurb but they’re just too good to cut up. I hope you’ll retweet, and tell your friends about my latest book Death’s Door and maybe give it a go yourself.

AMAZON

Paperback http://www.amazon.com/Deaths-Door-Dannie-C-Hill/dp/0982692463/

Ebook http://www.amazon.com/Deaths-Door-ebook/dp/B008IMBK3I

Barnes and Noble

Paperback http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/deaths-door-dannie-c-hill/1112082641

REVIEWS:

Well-written and with a complex, multilayered and compelling plot, Death’s Door by Dannie Hill is one of the finer books I have read this year. I could see this book sitting in a bookstore beside Tom Clancy or David Balducci and holding its own quite nicely. The plot unfolded at an even tempo, culminating in a breathtaking, heart pounding climax that had me reading the last 1/3 or so of the book as fast as I could. I did not want to stop, but I was happy with the ending. I generally try and point out the positive and negative in reviews, but I honestly cannot think of anything in this book that I did not like. Even the editing was flawless. Definitely recommend with highest praise!! (5 stars). J.T. Thomas; GoodReads, Barnes&Noble, Librarything, Shelfari

“Death’s Door” by Dannie Hill is an east-meets-west thriller in which the main characters, Bill and Dell, enter a dark and dangerous world as they try and stop a terrorist attack. The story moves from the US, to the Middle East, and back again, and we are shown an impressively accurate portrait of the two contrasting worlds. I liked that the author resisted falling into overplayed stereotypes, and instead treated all of the characters like human beings. Even though there was plenty of action and danger and high stakes, there were also relationships that gave the characters a relatable humanity. I loved watching Bill and Fatima’s relationship unfold, and thought it felt very natural. It also gave this novel more dimension, and more emotional investment than had it just been focused solely on the terrorists with the dirty bomb. I highly recommend this for fans of thrillers and political intrigue. (5 stars). Karen Matthews; GoodReads, Barnes&Noble, Librarything, Shelfari

Wow, what an amazing story! This is the first book I’ve read by Dannie Hill but I am sure it won’t be the last. Some people just know how to write and Mr. Hill is one of them. This book was excellent, not just for a self/indie pubbed book, but for any book. The prose was vivid, strong, and pulled me into the story right from the beginning. The author did a wonderful job of “showing” us the world he created, instead of just ‘telling’ to us. I felt like I was a part of the action from the get go, and the characters all felt so real and alive. They each had such distinctive “voices”, especially Fatima, but really all of them. The pacing was good and I was never bored or confused. Only the tiniest thing was that I thought the ending felt kind of abrupt, but maybe I just wasn’t ready for it to be over just yet. (5 stars).  Nicole Hastings; GoodReads, Barnes&Noble, Librarything, Shelfari

I won’t recap the plot (you can read that in the description), just know that it doesn’t do this novel justice! There is so much that happens, and it is told is such a way that you won’t want to stop reading until the story is over. There is action, a terrorist plot, sex and romance, danger, a trip to the Middle East, and so on. But what I think was the best was the way that the different plots managed to mesh together and create an unputdownable story. I thought the middle dragged a bit compared to the beginning and the end, but it was okay because it was just developing different storylines. It just didn’t have the tension as the other parts of the novel, but was still interesting.  The last quarter or so of the book I couldn’t stop reading it was so intense! Overall I’d say I really liked it. (4 stars). Cale Owens

I read this book in one night and am already interested in reading more from Mr. Hill. His writing is smooth and natural, always moving forward (very little back story and only when necessary), and he packs an emotional punch in almost every scene…too many to mention, but my favorites were when Bill was recovering from the scorpion stings and what Fatima did, the story of Dell losing his brother, and when Loretta’s kids were being held hostage with her. There was some powerful writing that delivered so much more to the story and the characters’ development, which is something I really look for in a good book. I hate one dimensional characters who show no change or growth, but there was none of that here. Interesting for a thriller/action novel where the focus is usually on the external conflicts, not the internal.  The details and the descriptions were perfect, enough to paint the scene perfectly, but not overkill to slow down the story at all. A very impressive read and one I’d recommend to my friends and family. (5 stars). Cory Banyon

Can you feel my smile and love for readers?

12 responses to “Reviews of Death’s Door by Dannie Hill

  1. Pingback: Great Reviews of Death’s Door by Dannie Hill | T. W. Dittmer

  2. Great reviews, Dannie! Not at all surprising as I too got captured by the spell you cast in your writing of “Death’s Door”. I ate it up and enjoyed every page! Your talent from the heart and skill with words make me look forward to reading everything you write. So… when’s the next one? 😉

    • Thank you for your kind words, Virginia. Praise from an author I admire and enjoy means so much! I’ll have another book out next year– It will be different from any I’ve written so far, but I did enjoy the thriller genre and may moving into for several more books. Hope you are doing well!

  3. Great Reviews, I am enticed. Had to go right over a get a copy. Terrorism isn’t my favorite topic but I appreciate that one reviewer mentioned that you spun your story without stereotypes. I am an avid reader and my biggest complaint with stories is the stereotype. Had to give your book a look see.

    • Thank you for visiting, Dorianna. I’m excited that you bought a copy of my book. It is not your typical thriller and I think you will like it. BTW I love your website. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

