Just Too Hot to Tango

Talking to my Bananas

Talking to my Bananas

Storks Enjoying The Heat

Storks Enjoying The Heat

I know I should be posting more. I’ve read the rule book but whoever wrote it didn’t live in Thailand.

Don’t get me wrong; I love living here—I mean who wouldn’t want to live in an exotic place where people are friendly, smile all the time and think you are special.

But when it is Spring time in the States and the rest of the Northern Hemisphere it is boiling in Thailand. I’m in Bangkok for a few weeks to take care of some automotive business—getting tags for my two motorcycles and work on some flood repairs.

I go out in the very early morning to watch the birds and lizards preparing for the heat, take a few pictures and then rush back to the house before the world remembers that it’s supposed to be hot. The heat has come a bit early this year and I hope that’s not a precursor to more flooding. The truth is it is extremely dry now but most anyone I talk to is worried about the floods. I’m sure it’s a form of PTSD. People in this area have lived all their lives here only seeing floods on TV and then the waters came in and wouldn’t leave. Many still blame the Mayor of Bangkok and his minion for making a lake of our area. Enough about the flood of 2011.

We were enjoying life on the farm getting ready to sell our tapioca crop and then the price dropped. Since tapioca can grow for years we are waiting for the price to rise. Some of our neighbors think it’s crazy not to grab what one can no matter the price. That’s the saga of poor farmers—they have to sell no matter the price because they need the money.

During the day I see very few people because it’s around 96 degrees inside the house and we only turn our A/C on later in the afternoon. It’s so hot I can’t turn my computer on for fear of damage. That’s my excuse for not writing a post or attending to my email—you really wouldn’t believe how many unread emails I have.

To be honest I think it’s more than that. I am slowly becoming Thai. We endure the heat and let it soak into our bones and it prepares us for life. This intolerable heat only last for a month or two and then the rains coming to allow us to carry on.

I’ve even stopped sweating like a foreigner. I would draw a crowd when I went outside to work in the garden or weld a fence or just move around. I would sweat like I had just taken a bath and forgot to dry off. This was amusing to the Thai’s. I would tell them I was okay and not to worry because all white folks sweat like this. They took me at my word because there weren’t any other foreigners to compare with.

Pineapple flower at the farm.

Now I do perspire a little more than the average Thai but not in buckets and my neighbors don’t come around just to laugh at me—well they do but usually for other reasons—I meant to say: laugh with me.

I do want to post more but when I’m writing a novel or even a short story about rednecks in space I have to watch the thermometer. I’ve been thinking about writing long- hand and that’s probably what I’ll do. I’ve enjoyed my embarrassment of posting my little story about space flight and I want to thank all of you who read it and especially you who commented! I will continue to give you a taste of my different styles of writing and promise to make you cry at least once and laugh or at least smile several times.

31 responses to “Just Too Hot to Tango

  1. I love that picture of the pineapple flower! At first glance, I thought you were wearing a strange hat in the first one. Stay cool, my friend – you always are in the cosmic sense. Where is the short story posted? I missed it somehow.

    • I had no idea pineapples had flowers until we started growing them. Thanks so much for commenting. I read all your post but don’t always comment– but I do read all you write!

      Staying cool is like a full time job over here shade is at a premium.

  2. I’ve missed your posts Dannie, but fully understand. The last thing I want is for your computer to explode and all your precious work to go up in smoke. The picture of you by your banana tree had me howling! I didn’t realize bananas were such good listeners. 😉 Thailand is the land of extremes, isn’t it? First, you had the floods, now the scorching heat. I’d take the heat anyday, and sweating buckets is good for you! We pay big bucks in the west to sweat and get some sun!

    I’m happy you’re keeping well, lovely man. It’s always great to read about your life in Thailand.

    xoxox
    eden

    • I’ve missed you too! I think the real reason I’m been missing is my muse has me strapped to the writing table. Over 2000 words a day before the heat gets too much.

      Thank you, Sweet Eden

      BTW Bananas are hard to understand– They want to all talk at the same time, but they’re happy, lol

  3. You’ll have to endure a little longer, Dannie! Just think of this intense heat as necessary part of life in exotic Thailand. How else would you be able to
    ‘talk to bananas’ and grow those pineapples! Maybe you’ll have become nocturnal or crepuscular so you can be active when it’s cooler! Take care, don’t let you computer overheat!

  4. Lovely. Still grinning. I have known Thailand in March and April. I couldn’t cope. And because I was mostly in Thailand on business, I had to shlepp a cardigan around with me because the offices would be at Arctic. What a nice blog to read. AND I never saw and pineapple flower but soon perhaps I’ll see one. We have three growing on the terrace. I had no idea you could just lob off the pineapple, put the punk hair into water and have it root.

    • Hi Rose Mary. I agree that pinapples are amazing. We did by large fileds of them and I just want to run out and look at them. We only have around 15 plants– just because I wanted them. But they are so delicious.

      Good luck with yours– rmember sometimes it tqkes several years before they produce. Let me know how it goes.

      I think I’ve finally gotten used to the heat and we rarely use the A/C during the day except this time of year.

      Thanks so much for visiting and if you come over here have a great time!

  5. Thank you for the advice, Lorna. Here, twilight is mosquito time but the good news is they like Thais better than me.

    I do enjoy it here and shouldn’t complain. I keep reading about your movie deals with your books and can’t wait to see them on the big screen. You are amazing! I’m a big fan!

  6. Good to see you back in the saddle again, Dannie. You always have something interesting to say about life in Thailand. You can definitely tolerate heat a lot better than I can. I’ve already started running my A/C here in Texas… and it’s only gotten in the mid-80s so far.

    Keep that computer cool and pray for mine. All three of the case fans have stopped spinning, but it’s a huge case with plenty of ventilation and appears to be staying cool. Time to back up those files!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Rob! Heat is a state of mind– until your mind starts to melt, lol.

      Be sure and back up all the writing you’re doing. I know I do.

  7. Enjoyed this.
    We have lots of expats with us here too.
    Some end up staying for ever and the progression’s always the same – they stop sweating quite so much!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I really enjoy your poetry. Yes, the heat soaks into us all. I wnet back to the States last year and it was in the 50’s. Nearly froze to death.

  8. I don’t know about you Dannie, but heat like that must at least feel good for the bones! LOL I live where it goes down to minus 40 in the winter and THAT doesn’t feel good at all for my bones. Want to trade for a while? Beautiful picture of the pineapple, I showed my youngest daughter and she just now clicked on how they grow. She didn’t believe me at first that it WAS a pineapple! 😀 Thanks for sharing!

    • You can keep the cold, Natasha. I’ve worked in -8 degrees and it was no fun. I’ll take the heat any day. So happy your duaghter like the pic. Pineapples have always fascinated me. Bananas are cool too, lol.

  9. Dannie, I know about the heat thing. I haven’t stopped perspiring yet, but you do take a moment to ponder turning on a computer that would rather work in a refrigerator.

    I’ve done two things to help on our boat in the middle of heat. 1) I bought a cheap fan to put under the computer. The two fans help cool the internal fans, allowing me to work just a tad longer.

    2) I have an Alpha Smart. It’s one step up from writing long hand. It’s a glorified typewriter and only has a screen for you to see four lines. Not to worry, for rough drafts, it’s great. It runs on three AA batteries and when I’m ready, I can just plug it into my laptop, open a Word file and hit send. I get to watch in amazement as my words run across my new document.

    Now, I can edit that free thinking I did in the heat of the afternoon, during the cool of the morning.

    Maybe you could try one or both of these. As to blogging more often, you will when you can. Enjoy Thailand!

    • Thank you for the advise, Nancy! I have the fan stand for my laptop and it does help. I may look into the Alpha Smart. I have though about buying a Cheap laptop just for word processing but it would still be heat sensitive.

      One thing I do is save my documents to four different sources and I leave one in Bangkok and one of the farm– LOL. It sounds like I’m guarding a national treasure.

      You are living the life I envy.

      • The Alpha Smart or the big sister the Dana are very indestructible. Also affordable. Google Alpha Smart and see what you find. If you want to edit on the machine you’ll need to step up to the Dana.

  10. You have done it again, Dannie! Awesome post, especially the photo where you’re ‘talking to your bananas’. I’m still laughing and smiling away. How gorgeous is that pineapple flower? Wish I could have some of these in my garden.

    Always enjoy visiting your blog and reading your stories. I look forward to your next post and as always, learning a bit more about Thailand.

    Keep smiling.

    • Thank you, Sandra. I would have thought you could grow pineapples in South Africa– guess it gets too cold. Put one in a pot to take inside in the winter. It might work.

      The pineapple seems to be a hit and it is with me. I check them everyday and try and figure out how they do what they do. I was concerned that one wasn’t growing its top as quick as the others– made my wife laugh as she pulled me away to do some real work.

  11. Hi Dannie, Great to hear that you are becoming a local! I know that feeling although I was transplanted much earlier in life. I used get terrible heat rashes when I was a kid adjusting to the Aussie weather. I am not in the tropical part though – I suffer in the humidity – well tropical humidity. I’ve heard people describe this area as humid but we are in a cool temperate zone and, I think, because of the rainforest and ocean here there is always a lot of moisture. I can really understand not turning the computer on in the heat. Mine just stops working. We have had a lot of extreme heat days this summer – some days over 40c! I am so glad autumn is upon us. Hopefully no more heat waves ..please…
    We have a banana tree growing in our garden – it does it tough here with the salt wind and our extreme weather swings… and we get a lot more cold than hot. I must go have more chats with it!
    I am fascinated by the tapioca plant – I didn’t realise you could leave it like that!
    It must be hard being in Bangkok instead of on the farm, hope you can get back there soon!
    Is life getting back in swing after the floods? Looking forward to the next adventure ‘out of Thailand!’

  12. It is so good to hear from you, Michelle. There’s just something about the place you live, the places you go, the things you see and of course you, that fascinates me.

    I grew up in the southern U.S. so humidity is something I can live with. One has to learn to conserve movement, lol. I’m still having to caculate temp in my head. Changing C to F. It was 43 degrees the other day and I thought, That’s not so bad. Then I converted it to 106F — that’s hot.

    Coming to Bangkok from time to time is okay but you’re right Julee and I would much rather be on the farm. The young man who helps out calls everyday to give my wife a running report– truth is I think he misses us. He says there’s a giant snake visiting the fish ponds and needs my help to catch it– Do what? Maybe I’ll get some good photos.

    Enjoy the Fall and Winter. I see the floods are returning to Oz– hope that doesn’t mean we’re in for round 2

  13. Thank you for cropping by, Kelly. I complain and moan about the heat but there’s some good to it too– I think. I believe I will write a post on the good of living in a sauna.

  14. Dannie, I know you’re hot, but take solace in the fact that you are living a life most people only dream about. 🙂 I feel for you, though, and it’s awful when it’s hot. Here in southern Cali it gets very, very hot during the summer months, but not humid like Thailand. I really enjoyed reading this post – it made me giggle a little bit. It warms my heart, though, to know the natives think you are special, and that they are nothing but kind. How amazing that must be! Stay cool, my friend, and keep on writing (even if it is longhand).

    • Thank you for your comments, Sean. It’s always great to hear from you. My daughter lived in San Diego for a long time and I loved to visit. I do complain a lot about the heat but truthfully it soaks into my bones and I like it. It reminds of my younger days when there was no A/C. Shade was a precious thing. Even here Thais will go out of there way to stay in the shade and I don’t blame them.

      Hopefully my next post will continue how I really feel about living in Thailand. It is special!

  15. Have I already told you this story? When we were in Thailand, on Phi Phi, my friend came to our door in the morning, in his bathing suit, soaking wet. We asked if he’d just gone for a swim and he said, no, he’d just been eating breakfast with really hot peppers and sweating.

    • Ha!. Thai peppers will make you sweat! A few of my Thai friends test me by ordering the hotest thing on the menu when we go out just to see if I can eat the dish. I guess my wife started me off right because I impress the Thais with what I can eat.

      You know that PHi Phi island was almost completely destroyed by a Tsunami a few years back. But I went there six months later and it was back up and running. Beautiful place.

  16. Hi Dannie! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog … I wanted to return the favor. Must be thrilling to live in Thailand! Wishing you all the best in your writing and life!

    • Thank you for visiting my site, Molly. I do enjoy your blog. You make learning easy– which is the way I like it, lol. Hope you’ll check out a few of my post and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

