Flooding in Thailand

I was going to post a nice story about the rubber trees in Thailand , but instead I will tell you about what’s happening right now.

This is the rainy season in Thailand and it is normal for some low lying areas to flood for a few days. This year the rain won’t stop. I’ve never seen so many overcast days here. We only see the sun perhaps twice a week and then not for long. Most unusual. The rains normally come in the late afternoon or evening for a few hours and then it’s clear until they return. This year it just doesn’t seem to stop.

We have a little farm on the central plateau and don’t have to worry about floods except for the very intense rains. We also have a small two story house in Pathum Thani—near Bangkok. There are a series of klongs- canals- that protect a large area area, but this year there’s just too much rain all over the country and it’s heading for Bangkok via the Chao Phraya river- the main river of Thailand. Many areas of Bangkok are already flooded and it’s only going to get worse.

My wife and I have been caught in these floods on several occasions and it was scary to drive through water several feet deep and not knowing if there is a hole in the road. I always follow someone else but crossing small rivers that are higher than the bridge is unnerving.  All in all we are doing well and safe.

The really bad part is that there are areas where people are living in their houses that have been in deep water for three months. I feel so sorry for these people. Thai’s normally take on any situation with a smile but this year I have seen people crying for lack of knowing what to do—even government officials. Seeing a Thai cry is very unusual and it tears at my heart. They will come through this and be laughing when it’s over.

Another worrisome part is that in the Bangkok area we have been to a number of food outlets and there is no bottled water except for the small 1/2 liter bottles. Only the very poor drink water that doesn’t come from a bottle. I suspect people are hoarding it and the supplies will soon be there. We have a well at out farm so we will have drinking water and will make it available if needed. 

The US has helped with relief by giving 3 million baht– $10,000. Not much help at all. China has given and offered large amounts of money and aid.

I wish I had some pictures to add to this post and will later on but I must tell you when I’m in 2 or three feet of fast moving water rushing across a road, my camera is the last thing I’m thinking of, lol. And it’s not just crossing a short span. There is water for long distances. Looks like driving on a lake or the ocean in some places.

I do pray everyday for these hard hit wonderful people and I hope you will add your prayers also.

For my friends and reader I want you to know that my wife and I are quiet safe. I am ready for the dry season!

17 responses to “Flooding in Thailand

  1. My thoughts are with you all, and I deeply hope the rains will abate soon. I know from personal experience what it is to cross water-filled roads. Living in Haiti, I had my fair share of rainy seasons and the ravine where the road would go through would always flood. Meanwhile, keep safe, warm, and dry.

    Natasha

    • Thank you for your thoughts, Natasha. Things are looking grim tonight for our area. They started giving infomation in English. The good news is the whole area is flat so the water will spread but shouldn’t get too deep. Staying warm is not a problem here but dry may be a bit tough, lol. This has been the heaviest rainy season any one can remember. We will be fine.

  2. Maybe it’s time to build the ark. I know you can add sails and be just fine. Maybe a new career in rescuing folks stranded by the flood. In all seriousness. Be safe and I’ll pray for the country.

  3. Dannie, I’m happy to hear you and your wife are safe. It is heartbreaking to see the flooding images on the news—houses being swept away and people in distress.

    Asia has been experiencing some very unusual weather patterns, and Thailand has had more than her share. I really hope things get better ie: stops raining!

    May the sun shine for you again very soon.

    Stay safe,
    eden
    xox

    • Thank you, Eden. I really do miss the sun. It’s good for my spirits. It’s hard for me to watch and to actually see the conditions some of the people must endue but this is a country of people who accept what comes their way. I too hope the rains stop to ease a lot of suffering. My wife and I are safe and we can always go to high ground.

  4. Hi Dannie,

    I’m writing from the west coast of Canada. I have family living in Bangkok, near Suvarnabhumi airport. They are in the floodpath and have sandbagged around their little townhouse but it’s hard to watch and wait for news from so far away. It has been helpful to read your blog – thank you. Please keep it coming.

    I’m a traveler and a journaler and yes, I dream about living in other countries when I retire next year.

    Terri

    • Thank you for visiting my site, Terri! The airport is in a low area but the good news is the government spent a lot of money to control the water in that area. I will say a prayer for your family. Things do look grim here but the fact that it is so fla in this area is good. The water spreads out and doesn’t get to deep. Having a townhouse is goodnews too. Like us they may be fishing off the balcony but they’ll be fine. This is a great place to visit and live. It will be back to normal in no time.

  5. I’m glad to hear that you and your wife are safe, my friend. You are in my prayers and I look forward to hearing news that the rain has stopped and the waters have resided. Feel free to send more rain to Texas.

    Take care and try to stay out of the water.

    Rob

    • Thank you. Rob! Today the sun is shinning and it is so good to see. We are well and safe. I think we will go back to the farm and relax, lol. Very stressful near Bangkok right now.

  6. Hi Dannie,

    I liked your post on rubber growing in Thailand and learned a lot from it. The water is about a foot deep in my son’s neighbourhood, Saphan Sung in Bangkok. They evacuated south a few of weeks ago but are hoping to be home again this week. It has been hard on their little guy but they are so much more fortunate than others. Hope your lives are getting back to normal. I’ve been blogging a recent trip to Cuba if you are interested. http://www.wscstgrl.com

    Terri

    • Hi Terri. I’m glad you liked my story about rubber trees and the family I stayed with. I did read you blog about staying with the family in Cuba. I have enjoyed every Cuban I’ve ever met. Very nice people! You did a great job telling about a trip to a place many people from the States have never been but would enjoy. http://www.wscstgrl.com

      I’m sorry to hear that the floods reached your family’s neighborhood but hopefully it won’t bee too bad. It is hard on the kids but I bet your son and daughter in law are suffering a little as well. It’s really hard when you have no control over events. We still have at least 3 more weeks of the flood water at our house but it has dropped enough to not be inside the house now. It’s an ugly mess but we didn’t lose any very much– except my poor motorcycle. I’ll be better prepared if it happens again, lol.

      Thank you for commenting! I’m following your blog now and look forward to more great stories.

Leave a Reply

